New year honours list

New year honours list

53 individuals from Northern Ireland were rewarded in the new year honours list, as 2011 commenced. The accolades recognised services to society in general, the business community, schools, sport and voluntary work. A total of 997 awards were made across the UK, almost three-quarters of which went to people working in their local communities.

Order of the Bath
Knights Commander (KCB)
Bruce Robinson, Head of the Northern Ireland Civil Service

Order of the British Empire
Commander (CBE)
Dr Peter Fitzgerald, managing director, Randox Laboratories Ltd

Officers (OBE)
Brian Ambrose, chief executive, George Best Belfast City Airport
Jonathan Mark Carruthers, chairman, Lyric Theatre
Alice Chapman, Youth Justice Agency
Orla Corr, director, McAvoy Group Ltd
Marie Crossin, chief executive, CAUSE
William Charles Harpur, principal, Ballycastle High School
Edward McArdle, lately General Teaching Council registrar
Thomas McCall, clerk and chief executive, Newry and Mourne District Council
William Gerard McGuinness, Invest NI
Comghall McNally
Dr Brian George Patterson, lately chairman, British Medical Association in Northern Ireland
Barbara Anne Ward, principal, Cross and Passion College

Members (MBE)
Carol Armstrong, UK Border Agency
Councillor John Beattie, Castlereagh Borough Council
Frances Allen Blackbourne
Anne Bowen, managing director, Ardclinis Outdoor Adventure
Molly Carson
Joseph Carvill
George Hill Chambers
Jim Dickson
Ruth Ann Graham, Ministry of Defence
Margaret Eleanor Yvonne Hall
Harry Collins Hatrick
Dr Brian William Hill, head, Northern Regional College School of Engineering and Science
Ivor Jess
David George Johnston
George Kerr
Joshua Kerr
Hilda Latimer, caretaker, Lisnaskea High School
John Maxwell, first chairman of board of governors, Enniskillen Integrated Primary School
Arnold Don McClay, president, Londonderry Boys’ Brigade
Joyce Margaret McCormick, lately Northern Ireland Environment Agency
Graeme McDowell, golfer
Helen Gwendoline McFadden
James McIlroy
Kevin McRandle
John Moore
Robert Stanley Poots, lately principal, Dromara Primary School
Dr Katy Radford
Roy Robert Robinson
Alexander Slater, senior superintendent, Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen
William Elwyn
Robert Soutter, UK Border Agency
Eugene Patrick Stewart
Pamela Charlotte Emily Surphlis
Brendan Wilkinson
Margaret Cynthia Wilson, foster carer
George Daniel Woodman, parliamentary librarian, Northern Ireland Assembly

Queen’s Police Medal
Detective Constable Linda Elizabeth Baird Detective Chief Superintendent
Tim Hanley Inspector Paul Hannigan

Queen’s Fire Service Medal
Area Commander Brian Thompson McClintock

How to nominate

Nominations can be made by individuals or organisations. Successful nominees will have made a clear difference and must still be involved in the relevant work. Verification can take up to 18 months. Contact OFMDFM ( if the work relates to Northern Ireland, or the Cabinet Office ( if it covers Great Britain or the UK as a whole.

Show More
Back to top button