Public Affairs

Birthday honours mark service

2328120_l Ninety-five people from Northern Ireland were recognised for their service to society through this year’s Queen’s birthday honours list. Of these, 52 joined the Order of the British Empire, 38 received the British Empire Medal for local volunteering and public service, and five were acknowledged for their work in the emergency services.

Order of the British Empire

Commander (CBE)

Alastair Adair, University of Ulster

Deputy Chief Constable Judith Gillespie

Daniel Harvey, National Museums Northern Ireland

Glynis Henry, Northern Ireland Practice and Education Council for Nurses and Midwives

Bernard McGahan, Department for Regional Development

Officer (OBE)

Alexander Beatty, Thales UK Ltd

Richard Blakiston-Houston

Carol Curran, University of Ulster

Howard Hastings, Hastings Hotels Group

Robert Houston, Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Neill Morton, Portora Royal School

Margaret Patterson, Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute

John Strain, University of Ulster

Nisha Tandon, ArtsEkta

William Adams Wolsey, Beannchor Ltd

Member (MBE)

Kenneth Arnold, Forensic Science Northern Ireland

James Atkinson, Police Service of Northern Ireland

Ann Blanking, St Mary’s College, Derry

Eveleigh Brownlow

Samuel Brush, Dungannon and South Tyrone District Council

Ian Burns, Banbridge District Council

William Carson

John Devaney, Queen’s University, Belfast

Mary Devlin, Clinical Education Centre for Health and Social Care

Rev Campbell Dixon, Newtownabbey District Policing Partnership

Kelly Gallagher, Paralympic gold medallist

Muriel Good

Florence Graham, Ulster Girlguiding

Edison Graham, Ulster Youth Choir

Mary Grant, Newry High School

Margaret Haddock, Orchardville Society

Alan Hibbert, Armagh Observatory and Planetarium

Joseph Hyland, SOS Bus Charity, Belfast

James Kane, JW Kane Engineering Ltd

Gary Kennedy, Waringstown Primary School

Frances Leneghan, Northern Ireland Assembly

Karen Madden, South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust

Bernadette McCrory, Co-operation and Working Together

Eugene McKeever, McKeever Hotel Group

Elizabeth McNerlin

Irene Megaw, South Eastern Regional College

Hugh Montgomery, The Honourable The Irish Society

Pamela Noble, Thornfield House School

William Osborne, Building Change Trust

Patricia Pepper

John Rainey, Denroy Group Ltd

David Reeves, City of Derry Airport

Denis Smyth, Northern Ireland Prison Service

John Tully, World Police and Fire Games 2013

Carl Von Ohsen, Department for Social Development

Rosemary Watterson, Western Education and Library Board

Eileen Wright

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Gordon Aiken, Omagh Explorer Scouts

Charles Anderson

Norman Black, Reserve Forces and Cadet Association

Patrick Bradley

James Brady

Deirdre Breen, Lurgan Library

Jennifer Bristow, chef and broadcaster

Robert Butler

Debbie Caulfield, Eglinton Community Hall

Gillian Corbett, Kinallen Neighbourhood Watch

George Crawford, Boys’ Brigade Movement

Thomas Crawford

Ernest Cromie, Ulster Aviation Society

John Cross

Jennifer Mary Cunningham, Coleraine Historical Society

Irene Davidson

Robert Duncan

Margaret Farmer, Boho Community Association

Mary Hall, British Heart Foundation

Robert Harron, Castlederg Ulster Project

Frances Hawkins, Belfast Central Mission

Kathleen Hemphill, Parkinson’s Support

Gary Keenan, Belfast Education and Library Board

Paul Kerrigan, Ballycastle Community Development Group

Robert Knox

Helena Lynch

Helena Malcolmson

Sarah McAteer, Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure

William McKee, Midland Boxing Club

Joan Mills

Christopher Mitchell

Alicia Palmer

Esther Stewart, Crossroads Caring for Carers

John Stewart, Northern Ireland Cancer Fund for Children

Dorothy Thompson, Combat Cancer

Josephine Toner, Queen’s University Belfast

Kenneth Vennard, Boys’ Brigade

Susan Welsh

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Detective Constable Nigel Algie

Detective Superintendent Kevin Geddes

Sergeant Stephen Jamison

Inspector Gordon McCalmont

Queen’s Fire Service Medal (QFSM)

Assistant Group Commander Martin Joyce

Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal (QAM)

Robert Orr

Show More
Back to top button