Who’s who in transport

An overview of some of the key players in the transport sector in Northern Ireland.


Department for Regional Development Minister: Vacant

Following the resignation of the UUP’s Newry and Armagh MLA Danny Kennedy on 2 September 2015, the DUP’s Strangford MLA Michelle McIlveen took up the position on 21 September 2015 and resigned the following day.


At the time of writing the position of Regional Development Minister is currently vacant.


Committee for Regional Development Chairperson: Trevor Clarke MLA

Trevor Clarke MLA is the Chairperson of the Committee for Regional Development. The committee is responsible for scrutinising the work of the department and plays a key role in the consideration and development of legislation.


Clarke has been an MLA for South Antrim for eight years. He was first elected to Antrim Borough Council in 2005 to represent the Antrim North West District.


Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company Chairman: Frank Hewitt

Frank Hewitt is the Chairman of the NITHC Board. The NITHC statutory duties are to manage public transport properties and to oversee the activities of Translink.


Hewitt is also a non-executive board member of the UK BIG Lottery Fund and Strategic Investment Board and is Honorary Consul for the Federal Republic of Germany.


Consumer Council Chief Executive: John French

John French became Chief Executive of the Consumer Council on 1 July 2015. The Consumer Council is a statutory body which safeguards the interests of passengers travelling in Northern Ireland.


It campaigns for better transport services and works with all the main transport providers, key stakeholders including government and consumers, to ensure services meet passengers’ needs.


Translink Chief Executive: Chris Conway

Chris Conway is the Group Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company and its operating subsidiaries.


Conway is a chartered company director and a fellow of the Institute of Directors. He is also chairperson of NI-CO (Northern Ireland Co-operation Overseas) and a member of the Board of Trustees of Young Enterprise NI.


TransportNI Deputy Secretary: Dr. Andrew Murray

Andrew Murray is the Department for Regional Development’s Deputy Secretary with responsibility for TransportNI.


TransportNI undertakes the role of sole highway authority for Northern Ireland’s 25,500km road network. It also includes a Transport Projects Division, which is currently progressing the Belfast Rapid Transit project.

Murray currently chairs the UK Roads Board. He is also a member of the UK Executive Committee of the World Road Association.


Belfast City Airport Chief Executive: Brian AmbroseBrian Ambrose was appointed Director of Operations at Belfast City Airport in 1997 and promoted to Chief Executive in 2004.


Ambrose is currently Chairman of Mencap Northern Ireland, Chairman of Tourism Ireland, non-executive director of Phoenix Natural Gas, a trustee of the Titanic Foundation, and a member of the board for Business in the Community. He was awarded an OBE in 2011.

Sustrans National Director, Ireland: Gordon Clarke

Gordon Clarke is Sustrans National Director for both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Sustrans is a sustainable transport charity. Clarke is a landscape architect by profession and his entire working life has been based in Ireland.

A keen cyclist, he has taken every opportunity to promote cycling throughout Ireland while working on projects for Waterways Ireland and Shannon Development.

Belfast Harbour Chief Executive Officer: Roy Adair CBE

Roy Adair was appointed Chief Executive of Belfast Harbour Commissioners (BHC) in 2005. Roy’s career includes appointments as Director and General Manager of Flexibox International, Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Quality Centre and Group Managing Director of Smtek Europe.

Prior to joining BHC, he owned the electronics company Irlandus Circuits. Adair is on the Boards of Invest NI, and UKMPG, is a Council member of Prince’s Trust NI and chairs BITC and NI Connections.


Belfast International Airport MD: Graham Keddie

A qualified solicitor, Keddie has worked with several high profile companies within the aviation industry. In 2000 Keddie became Commercial Director of Airpartner Ltd. He has also been CCO of Virgin Nergia, CEO at Bahrain Airport Services, General Manager at ADAS Abu Dhabi and prior to joining BFS, Executive Manager, Commercial at Hermes Airport in Cyprus.


Show More
Back to top button