Queen’s birthday honours 2012

honoursA wide variety of public and voluntary service was again recognised in the Queen’s birthday honours.  A total of 86 local people received honours, including the reintroduced British Empire Medal, for help within local communities, and the new Queen’s Ambulance Medal.

Knight Bachelor
Kenneth Charles Branagh, actor

Order of the Bath
Companion (CB)
Edgar Frederick Jardine, interim chief executive, Northern Ireland Policing Board
Alan David Shannon, permanent secretary, DEL

Order of the British Empire
Commander (CBE)
Ruth Laird
Leonard John Patrick O’Hagan DL, chairman, Belfast Harbour Commissioners
Elaine June Way, chief executive, Western Health and Social Care Trust

Officer (OBE)
Norman Apsley, chief executive, Northern Ireland Science Park
Olive Buckley, Sexual Assault Referral Centre Steering Group
Michael Anthony Bull
Bridget Josephine Glendinning, DARD
John Alexander Graham, principal, Belfast Model School for Girls
Brendan Michael McCartan, DARD
Bhaskar Sengupta, Queen’s University Belfast
Edward Vernon, entrepreneur

Member (MBE)
Joanne Elizabeth Andrew-Steer, Royal British Legion Women’s Section
Robert Arnott, Northern Ireland Kidney Research Fund and Transplant Games
John Alfred Best, chair, Ulster Farmers’ Union Seeds and Cereals Committee
Ian James Bothwell, founder, Crossfire Trust
Margaret Irene Boyd
Raymond Patrick Boyle, PSNI
Joan Burney-Keatings
Joan Carmichael
Jean Gibson, Care for the Family
Thomas Gilpin, managing director, Gilfresh Produce
Trevor Alexander Hassin, Driver and Vehicle Agency
Robert Jonathan Hegan
Wendy Elizabeth Austin Hewitt, journalist
Patrick Robert William Hurst, managing director, Munster Simms Engineering Ltd
Eleanore Margaret Huston, RNLI
Brendan Johnston, chief executive, Northern Ireland Social Care Council
Leslie Jones
Adele Margretta Kerr, principal, Enniskillen Integrated Primary School
Helen Kirkpatrick, chair, Crumlin Together
James Leitch, HR Director, Northstone (Northern Ireland) Ltd
Jean Liddell, South Eastern Regional College
Reginald James Magowan, chairman, board of governors, Grosvenor Grammar School
Henry McCullough, DEL
Roger George McCune, regulator of general qualifications
Robert Joseph McFerran, chairman, board of governors, Regent House Grammar School, Loughries Primary School
Clare McGartland, lead allied health professions consultant, Public Health Agency
James Brian McGookin
Malachy Vincent McGreevy, general manager, rail services, Translink
Ann McGregor-Sistern, chief executive, Northern Ireland Chamber of Commerce
Margaret Jane McMullen
Heather Monteverde, general manager, Macmillan Cancer Support
Robert David Morrow, Boys’ Brigade
Marian Anne Moutray, Queen’s University Belfast
Francis Joseph O’Hagan
Catherine Joy Peters, Northern Health and Social Care Trust
Henry Joseph Quinn, East Down Athletics Club
Trevor Quinn, Ardnabannon Outdoor Education Centre
John Calvert Gingles Rodgers, chairman, Northern Ireland Children to Lapland Trust
Susan Fullerton Semple, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
Ivor Robert Stevenson, Armagh Old Boys Silver Band

British Empire Medal (BEM)
Myrtle Cecilia Moore Allen, Action Cancer
Samuel Ronald Martin Bothwell JP
Edith Eleanor Boyd, Girl Guides
William John Davis
John Bryan Dunlop
James David Elliott
Anna Marie Hamilton, Queen’s University Belfast
Elizabeth Henry, chair, Ballymena Area Schools Romania Group
Elaine Herd, Northern Ireland Hospice
Margaret Hunter
Irene Kerr, Health and Safety Executive
William James Lunn, caretaker, Park School, Belfast
Carolyn McCabe, chair, Portadown Festival Association
Nelson Samuel McGonagle
Paul McKee
Philip Jude McKeown, Braid Valley Hospital
Elizabeth Millar, chair, Ballymena Combat Cancer Group
Isobel Parke, caretaker, Glynn Primary School
William David Pollock, Scout Association
Bertha Ann Rankin, Belfast Education and Library Board
Jean Rea
Irene Rebecca Audrey Robb, Waterside Hospital
Elizabeth Rose, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
Patricia Ann Shannon, Ulster Hospital
Anne Skelton Vance
Margaret Wilson, Girls’ Brigade and Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme
Isabella Woods
Robert Dawson Wright, Northern Ireland War Memorial

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)
Inspector Kenneth Annett
Sergeant Stephen McQueen
Detective Chief Inspector Derek Harry Scott

Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal (QAM)
Brian McNeill, Director of Operations, Northern Ireland Ambulance Service

Show More
Back to top button