New year honours awards

Honours Medals Eighty people have been honoured for their contribution to society in Northern Ireland through the new year honours list. Of these, 25 will receive the British Empire Medal which was reintroduced for local acts of service at the time of the 2012 Olympics.

Order of the British Empire

Commander (CBE)

James Haslett, chief executive, NI Water

Patrick Morrison, professor, human genetics, Queen’s University Belfast

Officer (OBE)

Margaret Boden, chief executive, Christian Aid Ireland

Margaret du Feu

Edwin Dunlop

William Halliday, chief executive, Mindwise

Maire Kerr, Department for Employment and Learning

Ernest Logan, managing director, Giltspur

Scientific Ltd

Mary MacIntyre, Department of the Environment

James McAdam, professor, Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute

Pauline McCabe, lately prisoner ombudsman

Mary McColgan, professor, social work, University of Ulster

Nigel McIlwaine, Reserve Forces and Cadets Association

Robert McLean JP, Dungannon Development Association

Chief Superintendent Pauline Shields

Daniel Todd, lately Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute

Member (MBE)

Samuel Bailie, Department for Employment and Learning

Alderman Charles Brown, Carrickfergus Borough Council

Kathleen Burns, principal, St Therese Nursery School, Belfast

Edward Campbell, veterinary surgeon

Joan Carberry, family learning co-ordinator, Belfast Metropolitan College

Edmund Cochrane, founder, Downpatrick and County Down Railway

Robert Colhoun, Alpha Badminton Club, Lisburn

Joan Cuthbert, principal, Culmore Primary School, Derry

Joan Doherty DL

Edyth Dunlop, regional manager, Northern Ireland Union of Supported Employment

Kathleen Ferguson, founder, Brainwaves Northern Ireland

Nigel Finch, general manager, North Down Training Ltd

Claire Gilligan, senior vice-president, Warner Chilcott Group

Catherine Glass, trauma and orthopaedics manager, Altnagelvin Hospital

John Hadden, chairman, Techno Tyrone Ltd

William Hassard, director of parks and leisure, Belfast City Council

Ann Hayes, University of the Third Age

Richard Hill, lately chairman, Northern Ireland Screen

Martin Howell, director, Business in the Community

Timothy Husbands, chief executive, Titanic Belfast

Rosemary Jordan, Riding for the Disabled

Davinder Kapur

Joseph McAree, lately chairman, Dungannon Swifts Football Club

Faye McLeod

Patricia McQuillan, Coleraine Policing and Community Safety Partnership

Anna Moss, managing director, Belfast, Citigroup Global Markets Ltd

Pauline Mulholland, South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust

John Niven, lately chief engineer, Border Force, Home Office

Mary O’Kane, proprietor, Beech Hill Country House Hotel, Derry

William Oldcroft, chair, board of governors, Omagh High School

Diane Rathfield, general manager, Roe Valley Education Forum and Women’s Network

John Smith, chair, board of governors, Crumlin Integrated College

George Stevenson, Ulster Branch, Tennis Ireland

Margaret Weir, chair, board of governors, Ligoniel Primary School

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Barbara Blair, Young Farmers’ Clubs of Ulster

Maureen Brachi, president, Cuan Scribes

Hazel Cameron, lately administrator, Randalstown Arches Association

Karen Carson, captain, 2nd Dromara Girls’ Brigade Company

Derek Catney, secretary, Victoria Homes Trust

Simon Clarke, Department for Social Development

Irene Cumming, president, Ballymena Festival

Blanche Curran, nurse

Margaret Deering, proprietor, Ballycastle House B&B

John Doherty

Geraldine Duggan, vice-chair, Belfast Lough Sailability

Kathleen Elliott, founder, Good Morning Ballycastle

Hazel Flannigan, volunteer, HMP Maghaberry Braille unit

Lynda Hill, founder, Grovehill Animal Trust, Omagh

Edna Howard, chair, Newcastle Glee Musical Society

Thomas Livingstone

Robert Mayne, honorary captain, 1st Loughbrickland Boys’ Brigade Company

John Meikleham, treasurer, Youthnet

Ruth Montgomery, secretary, Clogher Valley Agricultural Society

Mary Morrison, Carers UK

James Neill, scout leader

Albert Robinson, Scout Movement

Gordon Speers, musical director, Portadown Male Voice Choir

Ruth Trueman, Drumcree Girls’ Brigade Company

Gillian Webb

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Little

Detective Inspector Gary Stephen McClure

Jeffrey McCready, lately detective inspector

Canadian link

Bombardier chairman Laurent Beaudoin was appointed as a companion of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (CMG) for services to industry, particularly in Northern Ireland. The firm has 13 UK sites, the largest in Belfast. A native of Quebec, Beaudoin is the son-in-law of company founder Joseph-Armand Bombardier and has been its chairman since 1979.

Show More
Back to top button