Birthday honours mark service

2328120_l Ninety-three people from Northern Ireland have been recognised for their contribution to the community in the Queen’s birthday honours list.

Fifty-seven joined the Order of the British Empire, 31 were granted the British Empire Medal for acts of local service, and a further five received honours within the emergency services.

Order of the British Empire

Commander (CBE)

John Agnew, chairman, Henderson Group

John Cole, deputy secretary, Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety

John Compton, chief executive, Health and Social Care Board

Pauline Leeson, chief executive, Children in Northern Ireland

Peter McNaney, chief executive, Belfast City Council

Brian Rea MBE, lately chair, Northern Ireland Policing Board

Officer (OBE)

Alan Armstrong, chairman and chief executive,

Almac Group

Derek Booker, director, Lagan Legacy

David Crabbe, Department for Regional Development

Janet Little, public health consultant

Marie Marin, chief executive, Employers for Childcare Charitable Group

Norman McBurney, founder and director, McBurney Transport Group

Raymond Murray, Department of Justice

John Wilkinson, principal, Dromore High School

Member (MBE)

Mary Andrews, lately chair, Northern Ireland Fisheries Harbour Authority

Lady Mary Bloomfield

Sergeant Peter Brannigan

Councillor David Browne, Belfast City Council

Paul Clark

Marbeth Coulter, Girls’ Brigade

Desney Cromey

Joseph Donaghy, chairman, board of governors, Our Lady of Lourdes High School, Ballymoney

Celia Ferguson, founder, Sion Mills Building

Preservation Trust

Thomas Forde, director, Northern Ireland Memorial Fund

Sylvia Foster, nurse

Frank Gervin, co-founder, Cloncoe Boxing Club

Susan Gervin, co-founder, Cloncoe Boxing Club

Lady Karen Girvan

Elizabeth Greer, deputy head, School of Business and Computing, Southern Regional College

Colin Henderson, Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

Superintendent Paula Hilman

Deirdre Lennox, senior nurse manager, Spruce House

Briege Lewis, Department for Social Development

Alan Little, plant manager, Nacco Materials Handling Ltd

Ronald McAleese

Kathleen McConaghie, principal, Castleroe Primary School, Coleraine

Alice McDaniel, teacher, South Eastern Regional College

Marisa McFarlane, Macmillian paediatric cancer nurse

Olwen McIlroy, principal, Belmont Primary School

Rev Canon Samuel McVeigh TD

Andrew Millar, Scout Movement

Thomas Mitchell, Department of Education & Mencap

William Murphy, senior youth officer, Belfast Education and Library Board

Audrey Murray, founding director and chair, Social Economy Network

Teresa Murray, principal, St Ronan’s Primary School, Lisnaskea

Pamela Neill, chief executive, Voluntary Service Lisburn

Sharon Porter

Ivy Ridge, Ballymena Inter Ethnic Forum

Councillor Evelyne Robinson, Ballymoney Borough Council

Karen Salmon, nurse, Crosslinks

Dinah Shortt, Diabetes UK

Brian Sore

Dr Fiona Stewart, medical genetics consultant

Vijay Tandon, teacher, Botanic Primary School, Belfast

Elizabeth Underwood

David Wallace, Henry Brothers (Magherafelt) Ltd

Dr Catherine Young, GP, Rasharkin

British Empire Medal (BEM)

Robert Anthony

Lucille Bonar, Beaver Scouts

Frank Cassidy, lately principal, St Louis Grammar School Ballymena

Ronald Coulter, chair, Northern Ireland Vintage Ploughing Association

Pauline Crockard, Ministry of Defence

Elizabeth Davis, lately classroom assistant, Foyle View Special School, Derry

James Davis

Roger Denny

Valerie Denny

Frederick Dickson

John Esler, Causeway Cardiac Support Group

Blodwen Espley, volunteer, Western Health and Social Care Trust

Richard Green, ship’s master, Rathlin Island Ferry Ltd

James Harkness, lately building supervisor, Arvalee School and Resource Centre, Omagh

Moreen Hatrick

Jane Hughes

Margaret Kells, lately cleaner, Lisnaskea Public Library

Aileen Leckey, lately school crossing patrol officer, Saintfield

Georgina McClintock, co-founder, Sion Mills Community Association

Mary McCloy

Terence Moseley, past president, Irish Astronomical Association

Mary Muldoon

Jessie Nesbitt

John Patton

Vaughan Rosbotham, Boys’ Brigade

Mervyn Rowe, Boys’ Brigade & Pettigo Cross-Community Development Association

James Scott, chair, Gillygooley Youth and Community Development Association

Suzanne Shepherd

Martha Shields

Robert Toombs, Boys’ Brigade & Scout Association

Anna Wharry

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Sergeant James Bingham

Detective Sergeant William Harper

Chief Superintendent Stephen Martin

Queen’s Fire Service Medal (QFSM)

Assistant Group Commander Martin Joyce

Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal (QAM)

William Newton, planning officer

Related Posts